Trinity House, home to the General Lighthouse Authority, is located on Tower Hill opposite the Tower of London overlooking Trinity Square Gardens and is one of London’s most distinguished private venues. Easily accessed by car or the underground, Trinity House possesses the elegance and ambience of a grand residence and is an impressive setting for social and corporate occasions and memorable civil weddings.
Behind the building’s imposing neo-classical façade, designed by Samuel Wyatt in 1794, are five graceful banqueting and conference rooms – The Library, The Court Room, The Pepys Room, Luncheon Room and Reading Room catering for board meetings, conferences, informal dinners, formal banqueting and weddings ranging in capacity from 10 to 130 seated places (180 standing). The venue - and particularly its beautiful Reception Hall leading through to a sweeping, twin-curved staircase - houses remarkable maritime artefacts, including the brass bell from the decommissioned Royal Yacht Britannica, that bear testament to the prominent role played by Trinity House in the nation’s maritime history.
The history of the House is omnipresent and throughout the building, valuable paintings and antiques bear out the nation’s remarkable nautical heritage. This chronicle began in 1514 when a young Henry VIII granted the charitable guild of mariners a Royal Charter to regulate the water traffic on the River Thames, their powers later extended by Elizabeth 1 to include the sea-markers around the English coastline.
In its 200 year history, the building has welcomed royalty, prime ministers and Lords of the Admiralty and is today managed by Deputy Master, Captain Ian McNaught. Reflecting the on-going patronage of the Crown, the current Master of the Company is HRH The Princess Royal, filling a role held in former centuries by, amongst others, the diarist Samuel Pepys, the Duke of Wellington and William Pitt.
To view a brief film of the House and its facilities, please visit: www.trinityhouse.co.uk